Dr. Yang SaingKoma attends the 2012 Ramon Magsaysay Award ceremony

Dr. Yang Saing Koma, President of CEDAC, recently attended the Ramon Magsaysay Award ceremony as one of the awardees for 2012, accompanied by Mr. Tath Sok, CEDAC staff member. The presentation ceremony was held on August 31st, 2012, and presided over by His Excellency Benigno S. Aquino III, President of The Philippines at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Manila.

In addition to the award ceremony, Dr. Yang Saing Koma also participated in a number of other important programs during his time in Manila, including:

  • Giving an interview on his life and career for documentation
  • Serving as the guest speaker for the East Asia Rice Working Group and the Rice Watch and Action Network (R1) for 40 participants, including farmers and representatives from various departments of agriculture and organizations
  • Sharing experiences about the promotion of SRI in Cambodia and The Philippines
  • Attending a meeting and round-table discussion for all 2012 Ramon Magsaysay Award winners with acclaimed Philippino journalist Mrs. CheCheLazaro
  • Serving as guest speaker at a presentation session about SRI and its innovations to around 70stakeholders and students from different universities
  • Giving a presentation about social business and the strategic plans of social businesses
  • Serving as a guest speaker at an event at the International Institute of Rural Reconstruction (IIRR) on promoting SRI

In addition to Dr. Yang Saing Koma, the 2012 Ramon Magsaysay Award winners include Chen Shu-Jui (Taiwan), Kulandei Francis (India), SyedaRizwanaHasan (Bangladesh), Romulo Davide (The Philippines) and Ambrosius Ruwindrijarto (Indonesia).

Dr.Yang Saing Koma was recognized for “his creative fusion of practical science and collective will that has inspired and enabled vast numbers of farmers in Cambodia to become more empowered and productive contributors to their country’s economic growth.”
The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize. It is given every year to Asian individuals or organizations that address issues of human development in Asia with courage and creativity, which have transformed their societies for the better. Since being established in 1957, 278 individuals from 22 countries and 18 organizations have received this award.

CEDAC wishes to congratulate Dr. Yang Saing Koma for this important achievement.